Similar books
  • TV Shows
  • Movies
  • Games

Book suggestions for Modern Family

Recommended books

Where'd You Go, Bernadette

Author Maria Semple
|
Published 2012-08-14

A misanthropic matriarch leaves her eccentric family in crisis when she mysteriously disappears in this "whip-smart and divinely funny" novel that inspired the movie starring Cate Blanchett (New York Times). Bernadette Fox is notorious. To her Microsoft-guru husband, she's a fearlessly opinionated partner; to fellow private-school mothers in Seattle, she's a disgrace; to design mavens, she's a revolutionary architect; and to 15-year-old Bee, she is her best friend and, simply, Mom. Then Bernadette vanishes. It all began when Bee aced her report card and claimed her promised reward: a family trip to Antarctica. But Bernadette's intensifying allergy to Seattle -- and people in general -- has made her so agoraphobic that a virtual assistant in India now runs her most basic errands. A trip to the end of the earth is problematic. To find her mother, Bee compiles email messages, official documents, and secret correspondence -- creating a compulsively readable and surprisingly touching novel about misplaced genius and a mother and daughter's role in an absurd world.

Dress Your Family in Corduroy and Denim

Author David Sedaris
|
Published 2004-06-01

David Sedaris plays in the snow with his sisters. He goes on vacation with his family. He gets a job selling drinks. He attends his brother's wedding. He mops his sister's floor. He gives directions to a lost traveler. He eats a hamburger. He has his blood sugar tested. It all sounds so normal, doesn't it? In his newest collection of essays, David Sedaris lifts the corner of ordinary life, revealing the absurdity teeming below its surface. His world is alive with obscure desires and hidden motives -- a world where forgiveness is automatic and an argument can be the highest form of love. Dress Your Family in Corduroy and Denim is another unforgettable collection from one of the wittiest and most original writers at work today.

Dad Is Fat

Author Jim Gaffigan
|
Published 2013-05-07

Jim Gaffigan never imagined he would have his own kids. Though he grew up in a large Irish-Catholic family, Jim was satisfied with the nomadic, nocturnal life of a standup comedian, and was content to be "that weird uncle who lives in an apartment by himself in New York that everyone in the family speculates about." But all that changed when he married and found out his wife, Jeannie "is someone who gets pregnant looking at babies." Five kids later, the comedian whose riffs on everything from Hot Pockets to Jesus have scored millions of hits on YouTube, started to tweet about the mistakes and victories of his life as a dad. Those tweets struck such a chord that he soon passed the million followers mark. But it turns out 140 characters are not enough to express all the joys and horrors of life with five kids, so hes' now sharing it all in Dad Is Fat. From new parents to empty nesters to Jim's twenty-something fans, everyone will recognize their own families in these hilarious takes on everything from cousins ("celebrities for little kids") to growing up in a big family ("I always assumed my father had six children so he could have a sufficient lawn crew") to changing diapers in the middle of the night ("like The Hurt Locker but much more dangerous") to bedtime (aka "Negotiating with Terrorists"). Dad is Fat is sharply observed, explosively funny, and a cry for help from a man who has realized he and his wife are outnumbered in their own home.

The Happiness Project (Revised Edition)

Author Gretchen Rubin
|
Published 2015-12-29

“This book made me happy in the first five pages.” —AJ Jacobs, author of The Year of Living Biblically: One Man's Humble Quest to Follow the Bible as Literally as Possible Award-winning author Gretchen Rubin is back with a bang, with The Happiness Project. The author of the bestselling 40 Ways to Look at Winston Churchill has produced a work that is “a cross between the Dalai Lama’s The Art of Happiness and Elizabeth Gilbert’s Eat, Pray, Love.” (Sonya Lyubomirsky, author of The How of Happiness: A Scientific Approach to Getting the Life You Want) In the vein of Julie and Julia, The Happiness Project describes one person’s year-long attempt to discover what leads to true contentment. Drawing at once on cutting-edge science, classical philosophy, and real-world applicability, Rubin has written an engaging, eminently relatable chronicle of transformation.

Modern Family

Author Writers of Modern Family Staff
|
Published 2012

Fans of Channel 10's hit MODERN FAMILY - the No.1 TV show in Australia with 1.1 million consistent viewers - rejoice The Pritchetts and Dunphys have got together to share their favourite moments and lessons to learn from and laugh about ...Every week, the characters on MODERN FAMILY have something to learn. And no matter the lesson, they always find a fresh and incredibly funny way to teach us a little bit about life and love as well. Now, America's most beloved family has finally opened up their albums to share some of their favourite photos and memories for us to enjoy all over again. Touching on everything from motherhood and teenagers to siblings, school, and love, MODERN FAMILY: WIT AND WISDOMS FROM AMERICA'S FAVOURITE FAMILY features some of the funniest lines from the show including: Claire: Look at them: a minute ago they were babies, and now they're driving, and soon we'll all be dead. Phil: I called the florist and ordered one dozen Mylar balloons. Good luck staying mad, honey. Gloria: I'm Columbian. I know a fake crime scene when I see one. Jay: She's my daughter. You're my wife. Let's remember what's important here: there's a football game on.Mitchell: It's Cameron's turn to be out in the world, interacting with grown-ups while I get to stay at home and plot the death of Dora the Explorer. With exclusive chapter introductions by each family member, this book will leave the show's millions of fans laughing out loud at - and falling even more in love with - the funniest family on television.

© 2020